top of page
Search
  • rebeccajoycarlson

Should Christians be Feminists?

Updated: Aug 13, 2020

There is a book called We Should All Be Feminists written by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie based on her TED Talk of the same title. Although the book is tiny, it’s impact on feminism is huge, as you have probably seen We Should All Be Feminists written on a myriad of t-shirts sold at Target. However, the term “feminist” and “Christian” have become opposing terms. Feminism has adopted a negative connotation in Christian (especially conservative) cultures. It is associated with words like liberal or progressive, or it is associated with other issues such as reproductive rights and the LGBTQIA+ rights that most conservative Christians are opposed to. The term feminists conjures up images of women who don't shave or wear bras. But hairy bodies and political agendas aside, the term feminism is quite simplistic in its basic meaning.


Definition of Feminism: The theory of the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes.


To be honest, when I thought of this title I was hesitant to use it. I considered safer options, something that sounded a little more buttery, girly...Christiany. You might also think, why not just pick a term we (Christians) are more comfortable with? One that doesn’t push buttons or rock the boat? Well, to be honest, I want to push your buttons. I want to rock the boat enough to get your attention and beg the question, is everything really alright? Are the current beliefs surrounding women in the Church actually Biblical and God honoring? When something is normalized,(e.g. the submissive, helpmate role of women) it is difficult to believe in another way. After all isn’t that what the Bible says? Or does it?

In We Should All Be Feminists, Chimamanda responded to the question regarding the term feminism with this:


“Some people ask: “Why the word feminist? Why not just say you are a believer in human rights, or something like that?” Because that would be dishonest. Feminism is, of course, part of human rights in general—but to choose to use the vague expression human rights is to deny the specific and particular problem of gender. It would be a way of pretending that it was not women who have, for centuries, been excluded. It would be a way of denying that the problem of gender targets women.”


In August 2019, I had a conversation with someone about the roles of Christian women. Tempers flared, my voice trembled, and afterward I found myself crying and shifting between anger and sadness. I reflected afterward, what gave me such a visceral reaction to this subject? I discovered that God put a fire in my heart that I suspect will not be stamped out anytime soon. I began to read everything I could on the topic and see what the Bible really had to say about women and I want to share what I'm learning through this blog.


So here we are. You may resound the sentiments of a professor I had that said, “I don’t understand why women complain about the things they can’t do in the church, why don’t they focus on what they can do!” This may sound positive at first glance, but it is filled with the condescension that sadly fills the pews of many church going men (though fortunately not all, yay!). It is the notion that nothing is wrong, why do women keep complaining?


I submit that something IS wrong. Something is wrong when half of the body of Christ is silenced because of misinterpretation of three verses of Scripture. This is not a topic of petty disagreement on semantics. This is a topic that has far reaching implications for half of the body of Christ that has a call to usher in the kingdom of God.


Definition of Theology: The study of the nature of God and religious belief.

Put them together and you have what I mean by a Feminist Theologian.


As a caveat, I am not inventing anything. Christian feminism and Feminist Theology have been around (though not to be confused with feminist theology within New Thought or Buddhism). In fact most of what I have learned I have gleaned from the pioneers of Christian feminism. With that I offer...


My definition of a Feminist Theologian: Someone who studies the Word of God and believes in the equality of the sexes within and outside of the Church. It is really that simple.


More specifically, I believe that equality of the sexes does not end once inside of the Church. Rather it begins inside of the Church. This is where we find our freedom. However, Church history has created a different story. Instead of liberating women, as Jesus clearly did, it has only sought to silence them through misinterpreting Scripture that was never meant to do so. Although the liberation of women has improved outside Church walls, within it women have been disempowered and taken up the role as second class citizens within the Church.


This is the meaning behind The Feminist Theologian.


“There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male or female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” - Galatians 3:28


P.S.

If you haven’t guessed, my answer to the opening question is, YES. I believe Christians can and should be feminists.





145 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page